Skip to main content

Sans objet

9 abstract works made for the web browser

Online exhibition of digital art

19 May – 19 November 2021

The web browser presents several affinities with the canvas, simultaneously playing the role of the frame and of the "open window" on representation, granted to painting by the humanist Leon Battista Alberti during the early Renaissance. Readily borrowing from a vocabulary of open spaces and exploration (from the Net "scape" browser of the 1990s, to Internet "Explorer"), its primary purpose is to be an interface onto the external world. However, it has often been used by artists, sparing all references to the world that surrounds us, to produce purely abstract works, in the lineage of pioneers of computer-assisted drawings like Vera Molnar or Manfred Mohr. 

 

This online exhibit groups 9 creations, from the 1990s – that saw the first "net art" artists develop the idea that a website could be a work of art in its own right – to today. It invites you to explore this form of digital creation, whether built in reference to the history of painting or by exploring the specificity of digital tools.

 

Created solely for the space of the browser, this exhibit without walls invites you to consult these works just as they were conceived by the artists, on the original URL when it is still available. Some works, interactive or otherwise, were created before the development of touchscreen technology used by smartphones and tablets: a full-screen computer experience is therefore advised. 

Presentation of the exhibition by its curator, Philippe Bettinelli (in French)


Miltos Manetas

jacksonpollock.org - 2003

Juha van Ingen
Web-Safe - 1999-2000

Annie Abrahams
Moving Paintings - 1998

Jan Robert Leegte
Scrollbar composition - 2000

Carin Klonowski

Img214270417 - 2014

Jonas Lund

What you see is what you get - 2012

Rafael Rozendaal

into time .com - 2010

Nicolas Sassoon

Ridge 11 - 2016

Claude Closky

Rectangulaire - 2015


Miltos Manetas

jacksonpollock.org

2003

Translated from Flash to HTML5 in 2020 thanks to the support of acces-s.org

 

Conceived by Greek artist Miltos Manetas, particularly active on the digital art scene since the 1990s, jacksonpollock.org is a tribute to the painter whose name it borrows. Created by subverting a software that simulates the effects of ink drippings, it allows the visitor to create patterns reminiscent of the "drippings" characteristic of Jackson Pollock’s paintings by a simple mouse movement on the screen.

The physical implication of the painter roaming the canvas on the floor, that largely contributed to generating Pollock’s image as the heroic figure of abstract expressionism, finds itself maliciously reduced to the slight move of a hand, a finger. Though the visitor can influence the thickness of the line and change colors with a click, the process keeps a necessary arbitrariness, and the result, described by Miltos Manetas as "cartoon Pollock", underlines the irreducible differences between the two mediums.

The playful and instantly accessible nature of the work has made it one of the artist’s major successes, that he transposed several years later into an application for smartphones and tablets: Random Pollock

Miltos Manetas

Born in 1964 in Athens, lives and works in Bogota
Artist’s website: http://timeline.manetas.com/


Juha van Ingen

Web-Safe

1999-2000

 

Though Finnish artist Juha van Ingen has been recently noticed for his work As long as possible, a gif file that lasts 1000 years, he was already creating works that combined abstraction and net art at the end of the 90s. Within his body of works, Web-Safe is certainly the most radical: nurtured by a reflection on the history of the monochrome and American structural film, it consists in a succession of perfect color blocks. These actually display the 212 hexadecimal numerals of color that could be exactly reproduced by first generation web browsers. Therefore, the image is not displayed by a browser but actually produced by it: a work that is both contemplative and purely specific to its medium, that produces a succession of colors displayed in a loop according to their order in the used code.

Through Web-Safe, Juha van Ingen also pursues a reflection on the standardization of the visible order, the limits of copyright, and the spread of images online. A copy of this work is held today at Kiasma museum of contemporary art, in Helsinki and another is being acquired by the Musée national d'art moderne. 

Juha van Ingen

Born in 1963 in Hämeenlinna (Finland), lives and works in Helsinki

Artist’s website: https://www.juhavaningen.com/


Annie Abrahams

Moving Paintings

1998

 

Dutch artist Annie Abrahams settled in France in the late 1980s. Her practice then focused on chaotic, expressive and abstract painting, used in installations for which she would soon start conceiving plans on a computer. In 1996 she started making online performances, and the following year created her first net-art project (Being-Human 1997-2007).

Combining both practices, she came up with Moving Paintings in 1998, an abstract composition that the spectator activates by choosing between three fields, discreetly placed in the upper part of the image. Shifting from a moving geometric composition to a space where shapes are blurred, this work seems to dissolve any direct reference to painting. Faced with the growing importance of the design of digital tools, whose intuitive use by spectators and functionality had become essential issues, Annie Abrahams produced an interface where arbitrariness, randomness and uncertainty seem to take over. She suggests a work based on the simple pleasure of shape and movement, that she compared to that produced by the contemplation of flames in a fireplace. 

Annie Abrahams

Born in 1954 in Hilvarenbeek (Netherlands), lives and works in Montpellier
Artist’s website: https://www.bram.org/


Jan Robert Leegte

Scrollbar composition

2000

 

Jan Robert Leegte has presented his online work like a type of web sculpture, whose properties he meticulously explored as if it were a material. One of the central elements of this practice was the pattern of the scrollbar, essential design element of the web browser, that the artist used as a basis for his compositions. From this motif, he built abstract geometric structures, integrating the scrollbar’s automatic movement as a dynamic element, deprived from any practical function, whose absurd dance the spectator can only try to interrupt.

By founding his compositions on digital design elements that vary from one browser to the next, and from one screen format or resolution to the next, he creates works whose visual renderings have strongly evolved in the space of twenty years, and reflects a form of impermanence of productions created for the internet.

A copy of this work is kept today at the Stedelijk Museum, in Amsterdam. 

Jan Robert Leegte

Born in 1973 in the Netherlands, lives and works in Amsterdam
Artist’s website: https://www.leegte.org/


Carin Klonowski

Img214270417

2014

 

Reflecting mainly on the study of projector and screen devices, Carin Klonowski’s work focuses on the means of creation, reproduction and deterioration of the technological image. In the lineage of this research, the work Img214270417 is based on the exploitation of a display anomaly, through a protocol repeated for one month, until its system update kept it from going on: "Everyday, the blog presents a new animated gif, sum of the previous one and of a new image: the same one as the day before. The images are the result of the saved Img214270416.jpg image, and of a screenshot of its miniature, then of the saved file of that miniature and so on… a display error modifies the image little by little, as the original one deteriorates every day." 
Carin Klonowski was also struck by romantic painting and the American abstraction of "colorfield painting". She develops with this piece a reflection on the alteration of digital images, whose collapse is the source for new shapes, independent from any formal control, and any link to reality

 

Attention photosensitive persons: this work shows flashing colours and lights of a certain intensity.

Carin Klonowski

Born in 1989 in Nice, lives and works in Paris, Chelles and Clermont-Ferrand
Artist’s website: https://carineklonowski.net/


Jonas Lund

What you see is what you get

2012

Collection Klinkhamer

 

Since its first developments at the end of the 2000s, Jonas Lund’s works build on a critical look at digital technologies and the art world. This work, titled What you see is what you get, echoes a computer science expression that refers to intuitive interfaces that allow to immediately visualize final results on the screen: it actually consists of a device that saves the resolution of the website’s different users’ screens and reproduces them in chronological order by display of rectangles of corresponding sizes
Though this evolutive work finds an echo in the reflections, led through the history of abstraction, on the frame as a determining element in the composition of a work, it firstly underlines the way that all of our online presences can leave a trace.

This question of online surveillance, recurrent in Jonas Lund’s work, was also considered through abstraction in his 2014 work Studio Practice: it allowed online spectators to observe his studio work through video, and to follow a process of production and collective selection of painted works. 

Jonas Lund

Born in 1984 in Linköping (Sweden), lives and works in Amsterdam
Artist’s website: https://jonaslund.com/


Rafael Rozendaal

into time .com

2010

Collection Nur Abbas

 

Since the beginning of the 2000s, Rafael Rozendaal produced over a hundred online works, that rely on a fascination for the movement of images and interaction in their most elementary forms.

into time .com is the first work within this corpus to explore the question of abstraction, sweeping the screen with a constant gradation between two randomly chosen colors. Each click from the spectator divides the screen in two, adding a new gradation. Through these simple rules, Rafael Rozendaal suggests a reflection on the composition of the image, where every plane possesses its own movement, its own breath. He also creates a work that plays with its medium’s own specificities: a great capacity of change, within which the public plays an active role, yet that is not able to exceed a protocol whose details are inaccessible, and in which an element of randomness remain central
Rafael Rozendaal notably pursued his reflection on online abstraction in 2016 with the accomplishment of the Abstract Browsing extension, that allows browsers to transform the data they receive into abstract compositions. 

Rafael Rozendaal

Born in 1980 in Amsterdam, lives and works in New York
Artist’s website: https://www.newrafael.com/


Nicolas Sassoon

Ridge 11

2016

 

As a French artist settled in Vancouver, Nicolas Sassoon has been particularly active with his .gif productions, minimal forms of digital animations that have strongly nurtured the internet’s meme culture, after having been an essential decoration element for personal pages and blogs of the 1990s and 2000s.

This technique allows him to create figurative compositions, yet he has also used it to develop his Patterns, hypnotic planes of moving abstract motifs, relying on a moiré effect obtained by the layering of two images. Therefore, he inscribes himself in a genealogy dating from early 80’s computer graphics, themselves inspired by textile motifs from the first programmable looms that appeared at the beginning of the 19th century.

Through the declination of simple geometric shapes, Nicolas Sassoon’s works, whose patterns have in turn been used in a 2017 collaboration with an important group of the textile industry, echo in a digital form the history of the link between abstraction and decorative arts.

Nicolas Sassoon

Born in 1981 in Marseille, lives and works in Vancouver
Artist’s website: http://www.nicolassassoon.com/


Claude Closky

Rectangulaire

2015

 

Since the end of the 1990s, Claude Closky has been one of the French artists that has dedicated themselves most constantly and prominently to online art, creating one of the first works of that domain to be acquired by the MNAM (Calendrier 2000). Amongst the websites made by the artist, many are those that take an abstract shape. Monochromes from Red Alert to Black Hole, to the full set of One Minute Drawings published day and night, minute by minute, all throughout 2010.
In the context of "Les Nouveaux Commanditaires", Claude Closky was solicited in 2015 by the Paste association, gathering alumni from the professional Sciences and techniques of exhibitions Masters’ from the Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne University. He then proposed Rectangulaire: a website generating a geometric composition from the name of the visitor, who can then obtain a printable business card as a .png file. The result will always be the same for a given name, but the arbitrary process that brings the shape about remains invisible to the visitor.

Through the work’s title, Claude Closky refers to the format of the business card as well as to that of the frame. He therefore maliciously places the system of production of shapes in the lineage of geometric abstraction, certain representatives of which have also imagined systems of composition using the alphabet as a starting point. 

Claude Closky

Born in 1963 in Paris, where he lives and works
Artist’s website: https://ww.closky.info/

Aller au contenu principal

Sans objet

9 œuvres abstraites pour le navigateur Internet

Exposition virtuelle d'art numérique

19 mai – 19 novembre 2021

Le navigateur Internet présente plusieurs affinités avec le dispositif du tableau, jouant à la fois le rôle de cadre et celui de « fenêtre ouverte » sur la représentation, que l’humaniste Leon Battista Alberti prêtait à la peinture au début de la Renaissance. Faisant volontiers appel au vocabulaire de l’exploration ou de l’environnement (du navigateur Net « scape », référence des années 1990, à Internet « Explorer »), il a pour mission première d’être une interface avec le monde extérieur. Il a cependant fréquemment été utilisé par des artistes, en économie de toute référence aux choses qui nous entourent, pour produire des œuvres d’art purement abstraites, prenant la suite de pionniers du dessin assisté par ordinateur comme Vera Molnar ou Manfred Mohr. 


Cette exposition en ligne regroupe neuf créations s’étendant des années 1990 – qui ont vu les premiers artistes du « net art » développer l’idée qu’un site Internet pouvait-être une œuvre à part entière – jusqu’à nos jours. Elle propose d’explorer cette forme de la création numérique, qu’elle se construise en référence à l’histoire de la peinture ou en explorant la spécificité des outils numériques.


Pensée pour le seul espace du navigateur, cette exposition sans objet et sans cimaise vous invite à consulter les œuvres telles qu’elles ont été conçues par les artistes, sur leur URL d’origine lorsque celui-ci est encore accessible. Certaines de ces œuvres, interactives ou non, ont été réalisées avant le développement des surfaces tactiles utilisées par les smartphones et tablettes : une expérience sur ordinateur et en plein écran est ainsi conseillée. 

Présentation de l'exposition par son commissaire, Philippe Bettinelli


Miltos Manetas

jacksonpollock.org - 2003

Juha van Ingen
Web-Safe - 1999-2000

Annie Abrahams
Moving Paintings - 1998

Jan Robert Leegte
Scrollbar composition - 2000

Carin Klonowski

Img214270417 - 2014

Jonas Lund

What you see is what you get - 2012

Rafael Rozendaal

into time .com - 2010

Nicolas Sassoon

Ridge 11 - 2016

Claude Closky

Rectangulaire - 2015


Miltos Manetas

jacksonpollock.org

2003

Œuvre traduite de Flash vers HTML5 en 2020 grâce au soutien d'acces-s.org

 

Conçue par l’artiste grec Miltos Manetas, particulièrement actif sur la scène de l’art numérique depuis les années 1990, l’œuvre jacksonpollock.org est un hommage malicieux au peintre qui lui donne son nom. Réalisée en détournant un logiciel qui simule les effets de coulures de l’encre, elle permet au visiteur de réaliser, par simple mouvement de souris sur l’écran, des motifs rappelant les « drippings » caractéristiques de la peinture de Jackson Pollock.

L’implication physique du peintre parcourant la toile placée au sol, qui a grandement participé à en faire une figure héroïque de l’expressionnisme abstrait, se trouve ici réduite au simple déplacement d’une main, d’un doigt. Si le visiteur peut influer sur l’épaisseur du trait, et changer de couleur en cliquant, le processus garde une part d’aléa essentielle et le résultat, qualifié par Miltos Manetas de « cartoon Pollock », souligne l’irréductible différence entre les médiums employés.

Le caractère ludique et instantanément accessible de l’œuvre en a fait l’un des succès majeurs de l’artiste, qu’il transposera quelques années plus tard dans une application pour smartphones et tablettes tactiles : Random Pollock

Miltos Manetas

Né en 1964 à Athènes, vit et travaille à Bogota 
Site internet de l’artiste : http://timeline.manetas.com/


Juha van Ingen

Web-Safe

1999-2000

 

Si l’artiste finlandais Juha van Ingen a récemment été remarqué pour l’œuvre As long as possible, un fichier .gif d’une durée de 1000 ans, il s’est illustré à la fin des années 1990 par plusieurs œuvres croisant abstraction et net art. Au sein de ce corpus, Web-Safe est certainement la plus radicale : nourrie d’une réflexion sur l’histoire du monochrome et du cinéma structurel américain, il s’agit d’une succession d’aplats parfaits. Celle-ci décline en réalité les 212 codes hexadécimaux de couleur que pouvaient reproduire avec exactitude les premières générations de navigateur internet. Il ne s’agit ainsi pas d’une image lue par un navigateur, mais produite par celui-ci : une œuvre contemplative et purement spécifique à son médium, qui produit une succession de couleurs affichées en boucle, selon leur numérotation dans le code employé.

À travers Web-Safe, Juha van Ingen poursuit également une réflexion sur la standardisation du visible, les limites du copyright, et la diffusion des images en ligne. Un exemplaire de cette œuvre est aujourd’hui conservé au musée d’art contemporain Kiasma, à Helsinki et un autre est en cours d'acquisition au Musée national d'art moderne. 

Juha van Ingen

Né en 1963 à Hämeenlinna (Finlande), vit et travaille à Helsinki

Site internet d’artiste : https://www.juhavaningen.com/


Annie Abrahams

Moving Paintings

1998

 

L’artiste néerlandaise Annie Abrahams s’installe en France à la fin des années 1980. Sa pratique se concentre alors sur une peinture abstraite, chaotique et expressive, déployée dans des installations dont elle conçoît bientôt les plans sur ordinateur. Elle réalise à partir de 1996 des performances en ligne, et crée l’année suivante son premier projet de net-art (Being Human 1997-2007).

À la croisée de ces chemins, elle réalise en 1998 Moving Paintings, une composition abstraite que le spectateur active en choisissant parmi trois champs, discrètement placés dans la partie supérieure de l’image. Glissant d’une composition géométrique en mouvement à un espace où les formes se brouillent, cette œuvre semble dissoudre toute référence directe à la peinture. Face à l’importance croissante du design d’outils numériques, dont la prise en main intuitive par le spectateur et la fonctionnalité sont des enjeux essentiels, Annie Abrahams produit une interface où l’arbitraire, l’aléa et l’incertain semblent prendre le dessus. Elle propose une œuvre reposant sur le plaisir simple des mouvements et des formes, qu’elle compare à celui provoqué par la contemplation des flammes d’un feu de cheminée. 

Annie Abrahams

Née en 1954 à Hilvarenbeek (Pays-Bas), vit et travaille à Montpellier
Site internet de l’artiste : https://www.bram.org/


Jan Robert Leegte

Scrollbar composition

2000


Jan Robert Leegte a pu présenter son travail en ligne comme une forme de sculpture du net, dont il s’est appliqué à explorer les propriétés comme s’il s’agissait d’un matériau.

L’un des éléments centraux de cette pratique a été le motif de la barre de défilement, ou « scrollbar », élément de design essentiel du navigateur internet, que l’artiste a utilisé comme base de ses compositions. Il construit à partir de ce motif des structures géométriques abstraites, intégrant comme événement dynamique le mouvement automatisé des barres de défilement, privé de toute fonction pratique, dont le spectateur ne peut que tenter d’interrompre l’absurde manège.

En faisant reposer ses compositions sur des éléments de design numérique qui fluctuent d’une version à une autre d’un navigateur, et d’un format ou d’une résolution d’écran à une autre, il réalise des œuvres dont le rendu visuel a fortement évolué en l’espace d’une vingtaine d’année, et reflète une forme d’impermanence des productions réalisées pour internet.

Un exemplaire de cette œuvre est aujourd’hui conservé au Stedelijk Museum, à Amsterdam.  

Jan Robert Leegte

Né en 1973 aux Pays-Bas, vit et travaille à Amsterdam
Site internet de l’artiste : https://www.leegte.org/


Carin Klonowski

Img214270417

2014

 

Portant notamment sur l’étude des dispositifs du projecteur et de l’écran, le travail de Carin Klonowski porte sur les modes d’apparition, de reproduction et de détérioration de l’image technologique.

Dans la lignée de ces recherches, l’œuvre Img214270417 repose sur l’exploitation d’une anomalie d’affichage, à travers un protocole répété pendant une durée d’un mois, jusqu’à ce qu’une mise à jour de son système en empêche la poursuite : « Chaque jour, le blog présente un nouveau gif animé, somme du précédent et d’une nouvelle image : la même que celle de la veille. Les images sont le fruit de l’enregistrement d’une image, Img214270416.jpg, puis d’une capture d’écran de sa miniature, puis d’un enregistrement de cette miniature, et ainsi de suite… Un défaut d’affichage modifie peu à peu l’image, celle d’origine se dégrade chaque jour. »
Également marquée par la peinture romantique et l’abstraction américaine du « colorfield painting », Carin Klonowski développe avec cette œuvre un travail sur l’altération de l’image numérique, dont l’épuisement est à l’origine de nouvelles formes, indépendantes de tout contrôle formel, et de toute indexation au réel.

 

À l'attention des personnes photosensibles : cette œuvre présente des clignotements de couleurs et de lumières d'une certaine intensité. 

Carin Klonowski

Née en 1989 à Nice, vit et travaille à Paris, Chelles et Clermont-Ferrand
Site internet de l’artiste : https://carineklonowski.net/


Jonas Lund

What you see is what you get

2012

Collection Klinkhamer


Depuis ses premiers développements à la fin des années 2000, l’œuvre de Jonas Lund se nourrit d’un regard critique sur les technologies numériques ainsi que sur le monde de l’art. Cette œuvre, intitulée What you see is what you get, fait écho à une expression désignant en informatique des interfaces intuitives, permettant de voir directement à l’écran le résultat final : elle consiste en réalité en un dispositif qui enregistre la résolution des différents écrans des internautes qui consultent le site, et les reproduit dans l’ordre chronologique par l’affichage de rectangles de tailles correspondantes
Si cette œuvre évolutive trouve un écho dans les réflexions menées, à travers l’histoire de l’abstraction, sur le cadre comme élément déterminant de la composition d’une œuvre, elle souligne d’abord la manière dont chacune de nos présences sur internet peut produire une trace.

Cette question de la surveillance en ligne, récurrente dans le travail de Jonas Lund, a également croisé en 2014 sa pratique de l’abstraction à travers l’œuvre Studio Practice : celle-ci permettait à des spectateurs en ligne d’observer en vidéo son travail d’atelier, et de suivre un processus de production et de sélection collective d’œuvres peintes.

Jonas Lund

Né en 1984 à Linköping (Suède), vit et travaille à Amsterdam
Site internet de l’artiste : https://jonaslund.com/


Rafael Rozendaal

into time .com

2010

Collection Nur Abbas

 

Depuis le début des années 2000, Rafael Rozendaal a réalisé une centaine d’œuvres en ligne qui reposent sur une fascination pour le mouvement des images et l’interaction dans leurs formes les plus élémentaires.

into time .com est la première au sein de ce corpus à explorer la question de l’abstraction, balayant l’écran d’un constant dégradé entre deux couleurs choisies aléatoirement. Chaque clic du spectateur divise l’écran en deux, ajoutant un nouveau dégradé. À travers ces règles simples, Rafael Rozendaal propose une réflexion sur la composition de l’image, où chaque plan dispose de son propre mouvement, de sa propre respiration. Il réalise également une œuvre jouant des spécificités de son médium : une grande capacité de variabilité, dans laquelle le public joue un rôle actif, ne pouvant cependant pas excéder un protocole dont les détails lui restent inaccessibles, et dans lequel une dimension aléatoire est centrale.    
Rafael Rozendaal poursuit notamment cette réflexion sur l’abstraction en ligne en 2016, avec la réalisation de l’extension Abstract Browsing, qui permet au navigateur de transformer en compositions abstraites les données qui lui sont soumises. 

Rafael Rozendaal

Né en 1980 à Amsterdam, vit et travaille à New York
Site internet de l’artiste : https://www.newrafael.com/


Nicolas Sassoon

Ridge 11

2016

 

Artiste français installé à Vancouver, Nicolas Sassoon s’est particulièrement illustré par ses productions autour du format .gif, forme minimale d’animation numérique ayant fortement nourri la culture internet du « meme », après avoir été un élément essentiel de la décoration des pages personnelles et blogs des années 1990 et 2000.

Si cette technique lui permet de créer des compositions figuratives, il l’a également utilisée pour développer ses Patterns, plages hypnotiques de motifs abstraits en mouvement, reposant sur un effet de moiré obtenu par la superposition de deux images. Il s’inscrit alors dans une généalogie qui remonte au graphisme sur ordinateur du début des années 1980, lui-même inspiré de motifs textiles issus des premiers métiers à tisser mécaniques programmables, apparus au début du 19e siècle.

À travers la déclinaison de ces formes géométriques simples, c’est une histoire du lien entre abstraction et arts décoratifs que ravive sous une forme numérique Nicolas Sassoon, dont les motifs auront en retour donné lieu à une collaboration en 2017 avec un grand groupe du textile industriel.

Nicolas Sassoon

Né en 1981 à Marseille, vit et travaille à Vancouver
Site internet de l’artiste : http://www.nicolassassoon.com/


Claude Closky

Rectangulaire

2015

 

Depuis la fin des années 1990, Claude Closky est l’un des artistes français s’étant consacré à l’art en ligne de la manière la plus constante et la plus remarquée, réalisant l’une des premières œuvres acquises dans ce domaine par le Musée National d’Art Moderne, Calendrier 2000. Parmi les sites réalisés par l’artiste, nombreux sont ceux à prendre forme abstraite, des monochromes de Red Alert or Black Hole à l’ensemble des One Minute Drawings publiés jour et nuit, minute par minute, tout au long de l’année 2010. 
Dans le cadre du programme Les Nouveaux Commanditaires, Claude Closky est sollicité en 2015 par l’association Paste, regroupant des anciens élèves du Master professionnel Sciences et techniques de l’exposition de l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne. Il propose alors Rectangulaire : un site internet générant une composition géométrique à partir du nom du visiteur, qui pourra ensuite obtenir en fichier .png une carte de visite prête à l’impression. Le résultat sera toujours le même pour un nom donné, mais le processus arbitraire qui permet d’aboutir à cette forme restera invisible pour le visiteur.

Par le titre de l’œuvre, Claude Closky renvoie au format de la carte de visites comme à celui du tableau. Il place ainsi malicieusement ce système de production de formes dans la lignée de l’abstraction géométrique, dont certains représentants, comme François Morellet, ont également imaginé des systèmes de compositions prenant l’alphabet comme point de départ.

Claude Closky

Né en 1963 à Paris, où il vit et travaille
Site internet de l’artiste : https://ww.closky.info/